11 Days Until Takeoff!

Hello family and friends!  As many of you know, I will be spending the fall semester of my junior year studying abroad in Denmark!  I will take part in the Medical Practice and Policy Program through the Danish Institute for Study Abroad (DIS).  I found out that I had been accepted into the program early in February.  It has been 7 months since then, and it is hard to believe that I depart in only 11 days.

I have spent most of my summer in Northfield, MN.  I go to school at Carleton College, and worked in the animal colony on campus over the summer.  I also spent my summer house/petsitting for two of my professors.  In June I had a German Shepherd mix named Chachi, and in July I had two cats named Pasha and Laali.  I definitely enjoyed having their company!  In addition, I enjoyed volunteering and job shadowing a veterinarian at Prairie’s Edge Humane Society in Faribault.  The people who work there are wonderful, and it was such a great learning experience for me.  I love animals and am an aspiring veterinarian, so I’m just trying to get as much experience as possible!

I definitely had to spend some time at home in Worthington, MN before my 4 month long semester abroad, so I came home on August 1st.  On August 3rd my parents and I drove up to St. Paul because I was running in my third half marathon!  We spent a little time shopping that day and bought clothes and luggage for my upcoming trip!  My race was the next morning, and I finished with a time of 2:20:00.  I saw that there is a half marathon in Copenhagen in September, so maybe I can run that too!

Image

After finishing my third half marathon!

Now I am just spending time with family, friends, and my kitty.  I love watching the Olympics, and have been keeping track of Denmark when I see them.  They have a total of 8 medals right now!  I’ve also been reading some articles about Denmark and my Pre-Departure Handbook from DIS.  Here are some links!

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/07/18/world/europe/in-denmark-pedaling-to-work-on-a-superhighway.html?_r=1&smid=fb-share

http://world.time.com/2012/07/20/magic-kingdom-why-live-action-role-playing-is-one-of-denmarks-most-popular-pastimes/

http://travel.nationalgeographic.com/travel/happiest-places/happiness-hot-spots-photos/

For some reason I woke up around 4 o’clock this morning, and I saw my phone flashing.  I checked it out, and was pleasantly surprised to see that my host family had e-mailed me! I was so excited that I couldn’t fall back asleep until around 5:30.  My family lives in Virum. According to Google Maps, it is only 17.1 km away from Copenhagen.  I am looking forward to meet them!  We share very similar interests, like tennis and baking.  I haven’t played tennis since high school, but I am looking forward to getting back into it with my host family.  They also have two dogs, and if you haven’t noticed, I love animals!  Another reason why I was extremely excited was because I found out that I would also be living with one of my best friends, miss Jessica!  We put each other down as people we would want to room with if our first choice (we both wanted host families) did not work out.  I didn’t realize that it applied to host families as well!  Well, at least not at the moment.  I am thrilled to be able to explore a new country with a wonderful friend.

Leave a Reply

