Tomorrow, tomorrow!

I’m leaving tomorrow, it’s only a day away!  The day is almost here!  By this time tomorrow, I will be in the Minneapolis–Saint Paul International Airport waiting to board my 12:35 flight to Washington D.C., and then from there, Copenhagen!  It’s hard to believe that today is my last full day at home and in the United States.

So far I have learned that packing is no fun!  The longest I have been away from Minnesota was for about a month on a family trip to India.  I’ve never ever ever flown by myself either. I go to college in Northfield, Minnesota, so I have never had to actually pack when I go to school.  Northfield is only a couple of hours away.  I just stuff whatever I think I’ll want in my car and I’m on my way!  I guess I can’t really do that now…..so I actually have to think about what I’m bringing with me.  But, the good news is that I am almost done!  I just have to pack a few more pajamas, work out clothes, shoes (I almost completely forgot about shoes!), and toiletry items, and I will be ready to go!   At first, I didn’t think that two suitcases, one 25 inch and one 21 inch, would not be enough, along with my backpack as my carry on.  The suggested items list in my Pre-Departure handbook gave me a minor freak out, especially when my winter coat took up about a fourth of one suitcase.  But now I think I’ll be just fine!  I’ve also bought some things to keep me entertained on my long flights and layovers.  I bought the book Life of Pi by Yann Martel.  It has been out for a while, and I have only heard good things about it, so that should keep me busy for a while! I also have some new to my iTunes library music by Kimbra, Trampled by Turtles, and Of Monsters and Men, all thanks to my wonderful friend Marcheta.  I’m so glad that we have similar taste in music!  I convinced my parents to let me buy some music as well, so I’ll also have some Florence + the Machine, Bon Iver, Mumford & Sons, and Mat Kearney to listen to.  I usually don’t do very well on long international flights.  I can never eat right before I fly, so hopefully some good tunes will keep me oblivious to the smell of the plane!

There are a lot of activities planned for DIS students during our three days of orientation. Again, I am with my friend Jessica in Section C (Red), Group: 13C.  I’m so glad I’ll have her around!  All the numbers, letters, and colors make me think that there will be a ton of DIS students.  There are already 556 members on the Facebook group for students studying abroad this fall through DIS, and my guess is that there will be even more!  Some of the activities that we have include the Opening Ceremony on Monday, August 20th.  There is also the DIS Copenhagen Amazing Race where we basically explore Copenhagen with a group of our fellow classmates, as well as an Activities and Immersion Fair.  And then classes begin on Thursday, August 23rd!

If anybody has any packing or book recommendations, leave a reply and let me know! Otherwise, farvel (goodbye) for now!

P.S.  I don’t actually know any Danish, I’m just using the Language section of my Pre-Departure Handbook so that is seems like I know what I’m doing. 😛

2 thoughts on “Tomorrow, tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

