No Class on Wednesday = Best Day Ever!

This morning I still work up pretty early, probably around 7.  I don’t know if I’m still jet lagged, or am just an early riser.  I also did laundry for the first time here!  It was such a beautiful day, so I just hung my clothes up on the clothesline to dry.  After that, Jessica and I went grocery shopping because we are making dinner for our host parents tomorrow!  We couldn’t find all of the ingredients, so I will have to search more tomorrow.  I hope that we can find everything, but grocery shopping is much harder when it’s in a different language.

Then we went to Nørreport to meet our friend Nikki!  We decided to get some pastries before meeting up with a bunch of our other friends at Tivoli, an amusement park in Copenhagen.  There are so many cute bakeries around the area, and today I had my first wienerbrød.  It was very sweet, but very good.  🙂

My first Danish danish!

Then we went to TIVOLI!  Ahh, it was so much fun.  My friend Stephanie is also living with a host family, and her host father was able to give us a great deal on tickets into Tivoli, which was great!  I went on The Golden Tower, Himmelskibet, and Odinexpressen.  I was a bit nervous about Odinexpressen because it was a small rollercoaster, and if you know me, you know I don’t do well on rollercoasters at all.  But it was really small and not bad at all, so I was just fine!  Our group of friends also played bumper cars and went on The Flying Trunk, which had 32 different scenes from Hans Christian Andersen’s fairy tales.  It was really cute to see the familiar fairy tales come to life!

Tivoli!

Himmelskibet! Yup, I went on that. The view from up top was amazing!

Our group got a bit smaller after our trip to Tivoli.  But after that, a few of us went up to The Round Tower in the middle of the city.  The view was absolutely spectacular!  And, it was a perfect sunny day to go up there and see the view.

Another amazing view of the city! This time, from The Round Tower.

To end the day, Steen and Karin took Jessica and I to an organ concert in the Grundtvig Church.  I have never been to an organ concert before, so that was one of many firsts that I’ve had here in Denmark (along with going to IKEA and eating a plum :P).  The organist played pieces by Bach, Rued Langgaard, Olivier Messiaen, and Max Reger.  We all agreed that the Reger was our least favorite and that it seemed more contemporary and modern.  They served wine and potato chips afterwards.  Very classy, haha.  All in all, a wonderful day!  I could get used to this whole no class on Wednesday thing.

P.S. Poor Lucky got peed on by another dog today.  Not her best day every. 😦

Leave a Reply

