“Hi Buddy, hope you find your dad!”

Hey everybody!  I’m sorry that it has been so long since I have blogged.  I was really sick and was basically just laying in bed from Sunday to Tuesday, so nothing really exciting happened at that point.  It was pretty bad.  Whenever I tried to talk to anyone in the house, it just sounded like I was talking between sobs.  But, my host parents took such great care of me, and I think I’m almost all better now!  I just got back from the beautiful island of Bornholm, but I’m going to tell you about the rest of my week before I blog about that. 🙂

On Wednesday morning, my Biology of Marine Mammals class had a field study the Zoological Museum.  We got to go inside the animal collection area, and not everybody gets to do that.  It was quite the experience!  We saw skulls of baleen and sperm whales and their whole skeletons.  They had a ton of pure ivory narwhal tusks that were all different shapes and sizes.  Narwhals usually only have one tusk, but they had the skeleton of a narwhal with two, so that was really rare!  Everytime we talk about narwhals in class, I always think of the movie elf where the cartoon narwhal pops out of the water and says, “HI Buddy, hope you find your dad!”  It makes me smile, and therefore narwhals make me smile. 🙂  We also saw the whole skeleton of a blue whale with was GINORMOUS!  Oh my goodness, that thing was huge!  We also looked at the skulls of different seals and polar bears, as well as dolphins and porpoises.  Our professor was trying to have us identify them just by looking at them and I was like, uhhhh I didn’t do the reading because I had a 102 degree very and was coughing my lungs up, so yeah.  But luckily I never got called on, so it was all good.

Me next to all the giant whale skulls.

Narwhal tusks! I like the spirally one.

GIANT BLUE WHALE

We also got a tour of all the non-marine animals too by a guy who works at the museum and has actually caught some of the animals.  I didn’t enjoy hearing that they get permission to catch the animals for “scientific purposes” though. 😦  There were a ton of stuffed animals there, so it was a little creepy just turning the corner and seeing a moose head or a lion or something.  Just a little disconcerting….There were also shelves upon shelves upon shelves of reptiles and amphibians in alcohol filled jars.  I felt like I was in Jumanji.

This is an egg eating snake, and is not rare at all. It was already dead when it was found, and they later found out that the reason it had died was because it was near a golf course and ate a golf ball instead of an egg. Poor little fella. 😦

Later that night, I went to I went to an Of Monsters and Men Concert!  I met up with my friend Alyssa, and we were both so excited to go!  Even though we both had ton of work, but I was not giving up this opportunity to see one of my favorite bands for a really good price, and in Denmark!  It was really funny when we stopped in Enghave to walk to Vega, the place where the concert was.  We just had to walk straight from the S-tog station, and we were watching the numbers go down, so we knew we were near.  But then, all of a sudden, we were at number 20 when we were supposed to be at 40!  We were walking and talking so much about how excited we were to see Of Monsters and Men, that we totally walked by the venue without even realizing the huge group of people standing outside of it waiting for doors to open.  Luckily, it didn’t take us long to figure that out, and we made it there by like 7:05, and doors opened at 7.  And, we snagged a spot right next to the stage, so that was even better!  The concert was absolutely fantastic!  The band sounded just like they do on their album.  At the end of the concert, the guitarist came down from the stage right next to me and Alyssa and started playing.  So cool!  It was definitely worth going to!

Of Monsters and Men!!!

Leave a Reply

